Upcoming ‘1999’ reissue includes 23 unheard Prince songs from his vault and two full concerts

Warner Bros. Records has taken a deep dive into Prince’s legendary vault for a new deluxe reissue of his 1982 double album “1999.”

The long-rumored project will hit stores and digital outlets on Nov. 29 in three versions, the super deluxe edition (5 CDs and DVD or 10 LPs and DVD), deluxe edition (2 CDs or 4 LPs) and remastered standard version (CD or 2 LPs).

While Prince had found some success in the first few years of his career and earned a reputation for his sexually charged songs and image, “1999” shifted him into superstar status. The first two singles, “1999” and “Little Red Corvette,” were among the first from a black artist to earn heavy rotation from the then-new MTV. It was also Prince’s first project to feature his band the Revolution.

“I didn’t want to do a double album, but I just kept writing,” Prince said at the time. “I always compare songwriting to a girl walking in the door. You don’t know what she’s going to look like, but all of a sudden she’s there.”

The super deluxe edition of “1999” boasts all the songs Prince officially released in and around 1982 (including b-sides, remixes and edits) and 23 previously unreleased studio tracks recorded between November 1981 and January 1983, including “Vagina” and “Money Don’t Grow on Trees” (songs originally written for Vanity 6), “Bold Generation” (with the Time’s Morris Day on vocals) and “Turn it Up” (which Prince recorded for “1999” but set aside after deciding it was too similar to “Delirious”).

It also features a complete live audio performance of the “1999” tour recorded at the late show (the second of two that day) in Detroit on Nov. 30, 1982 and a DVD with another full concert shot in Houston a month later. Rolling Stone critic David Fricke, Guns N’ Roses bassist Duff McKagan, 89.3 The Current host Andrea Swensson and Prince scholar Duane Tudahl contributed new liner notes to the box set.

Read The Rest at Twin Cities News Feed- (opens a new tab)